Verstappen overwhelmed with his fourth place in Hungary

i

 

In an interview with the media after the Hungarian GP today, Toro Rosso driver Max Verstappen said he was “overwhelmed” with fourth place at the Hungarian Grand Prix – the best result of his young Formula One career.

Verstappen convinced himself his chances of a strong race were over after colliding with Valterri Bottas following the safety car restart, an incident which damaged his front wing. However in his interview with the media today; with chaos ensuing around him in the closing stages Verstappen soon found himself fourth position, something he could not believe at the time. Verstappen stated the following:-

‘I’m incredibly happy, to finish P4 is an incredible result. I think my second stint was quite good and then with the safety car restart a lot of people in front me were touching each other, I even had a touch with Valterri. I destroyed my front wing and I even had to serve a drive through penalty and from there on I thought my race was over.

‘But then with five laps to go I asked my engineer for which position are we were racing and he said P4 and I was like ‘where did that come from?’. I still can’t believe it.’

It is clear that Verstappen cannot believe what he has achieved today and believes that everything that happened in the race certainly helped him achieve this result as well as also keeping his head on the track when many drivers didn’t. It is a fantastic achievement for the young rookie and is showing why he was signed to Toro Rosso in the first place.

Verstappen further on in his interview today admits he was speechless when he crossed the line one place off the podium. Verstappen added the following:-

‘I was so happy and even after the finish line I couldn’t express my feelings because I was really overwhelmed.’

As Verstappen has stated in his interview today, he cannot believe that he has achieved a fourth place finish today. But he did well despite what was going on the track to achieve it and is showing that he is a potential talent of the future for sure and has the ability to build upon this result for the rest of the season and also in the near future.

The result is Toro Rosso’s best since Sebastian Vettel finished fourth at the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix, his final race before stepping up to Red Bull. It makes Verstappen the youngest driver to finish in the top four of a grand prix and I’ve always said this; Verstappen will be sooner rather than later achieving podiums and even championships in Formula One in the near future and he is certainly more than capable of achieving this. Keep your eyes peeled on him.

Leave a Reply

