Perez to stay with Force India for the 2016 season

i

It was announced yesterday that Sergio Perez will remain at Force India next year, completing the team’s 2016 driver line-up alongside Nico Hulkenberg.

Perez’s future has been the source of speculation over recent weeks, with reports linking him with a move to Lotus should Renault complete on its deal to buy the team. However, Perez has now confirmed he and his Mexican backing will stay at Force India for another season. In his interview with the media yesterday, Perez stated the following on staying with Force India as follows:-

‘I am very happy to confirm that I will be staying with Sahara Force India. It means I can simply focus on the important stuff – driving the car and scoring points for the team. Since coming here I’ve really grown as a driver and I feel I’m performing at my best. I’ve always said I want to establish myself in a team and it’s the right moment to announce my commitment for the future with Sahara Force India.

‘I can feel the potential in the team and there is a good energy, which gives me confidence for next year. I think we can continue to deliver strong results and I will do my best to help drive the team forward. I also want to say ‘thank you’ to Telmex and Telcel for their continued support, which has played an important role in my journey over the last ten years.’

It is clear that Perez is delighted to stay with the Force India team and believes that this is the best option for his future as a driver in the sport. He feels that the team are heading in the right direction and feels that he can drive the team forward into the future while also saying thank you to his sponsors.  With the news now being announced, Perez is right to say that his focus will be on driving the car and getting the best result possible for himself and the team as he wants to be.

In an interview with the media yesterday, Force India Team Principal Vijay Mallya added the following on Perez staying with the team next year as follows:-

‘I’m very happy Sergio has committed his future to Sahara Force India. He’s done a fantastic job for us already and when we give him a competitive car we know he can get the job done. He’s also got a great attitude and never gives up – it’s that fighting spirit which fits well with this team.

‘You only have to look at his results in the last three races to see that he is performing at the top of his game. It’s an exciting time for Sergio, especially with the upcoming race in Mexico next month, and with our close connections to the country I’m sure it will be a highlight for everybody in the team.’

Just like Perez, Mallya is happy to be working with Perez next season and feels that he is performing very well this year; while also believing that he is the man for the job and his attitude is what the team want from a driver. It is clear that Mallya believes that Perez deserves to stay with the team and if you look at his recent performances, you can see why both parties have decided to stay together.

But with Perez completes Force India’s 2016 line-up alongside current team-mate Hulkenberg as another piece of the driver market puzzle falls into place; but they can now focus on the job in hand which is to get the best results for the rest of the season in preparing for the 2016 season and get themselves in the best possible position for that as well.

Leave a Reply

