Renault Sport announce drivers for its academy

All rights reserved to XPB.

All rights reserved to XPB.

Four drivers have been selected this morning as part of the new Renault Sport Academy  at the launch of the Renault Sport F1 team which is designed to find future champions.

As part of the launch of Renault’s “comprehensive motorsport programme”, Renault announced it would be developing four young drivers, all of which took part in Renault-backed championships last season.

The first driver in the programme is the reigning Formula Renault 3.5 series champion Oliver Rowland and he will be joined in the academy by 2015 Eurocup FR2.0 and FR 2.0 Alps winner Jack Aitken, as well as FR 2.0 NEC winner Louis Deletraz and second-placed Kevin Joerg.

With Renault Sport Racing overseeing the drivers’ development, Rowland will compete in GP2 for MP Motorsport in 2016 while Aitken and Joerg will both move in to GP3. Deletraz will race in the newly-named Formula V8 3.5 Series.

New Renault racing director Frederic Vasseur in a statement at the launch this morning says it is important the company provides young drivers with the opportunity to reach F1. Vasseur stated the following:-

‘The Renault Sport Academy underlines the commitment of Renault Sport Racing to nurture young talent to develop the Formula 1 stars of the future,” Vasseur said. “The motivation is not just altruistic; we want these drivers to become future Formula One World Champions and we are putting every tool at their disposal to achieve this aim.’


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s