Verstappen wins Driver of the Day


It was announced yesterday that Max Verstappen has been awarded Driver of the Day by Formula 1 fans after the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Red Bull driver was in contention for the race win at the Sepang International Circuit but he lost out to his team-mate Daniel Ricciardo.

F1 has changed the Driver of the Day rules, with the window to vote now beginning at the half-way point of the race and closing at the chequered flag.

Verstappen led briefly during the Malaysian GP and was involved in a close scrap with Ricciardo for second, before Lewis Hamilton’s engine failed and both drivers pitted under the Virtual Safety Car.

It’s the fifth time this season that Verstappen has picked up the award, after winning it in Spain, Canada, Austria and Britain.

Driver of the Day winners:

Australia: Romain Grosjean
Bahrain: Romain Grosjean
China: Daniil Kvyat
Russia: Kevin Magnussen
Spain: Max Verstappen
Monaco: Sergio Pérez
Canada: Max Verstappen
Azerbaijan: Sergio Pérez
Austria: Max Verstappen
Britain: Max Verstappen
Hungary: Kimi Räikkönen
Germany: Daniel Ricciardo
Belgium: Lewis Hamilton
Italy: Nico Rosberg
Singapore: Sebastian Vettel
Malaysia: Max Verstappen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s