Jones on F1 2017 announcement

cropped-jonesonf1-background-by-sarah-12.jpg

This is extremely hard for me to write and it’s been extremely hard for me to make this personal decision as well. This decision hasn’t been easy for me in the slightest, I’ve spent a lot of time, thought and even sleepless nights I have been thinking about it since  March but gave myself time to consider this through to see if I would feel the same about it. But I still do.

And I’ve come to a difficult and heartbreaking decision that at the end of the season, I won’t be blogging on Jones on F1 for the 2017 Formula One season. Yeah… I’ve just said that. Wow!

For the 2017 season, I will be just focusing on writing for Driving For Pleasure and covering F1 and Formula E  with them as I have been for the last two years and properly giving it a full year of my attention to see if I can grow, develop it and build upon what I have already achieved there so far.

Many of you are probably wondering or will be asking why am I not blogging on Jones on F1 for the 2017 season? I will be completely honest with each and everyone of you right here, right now; there’s many different reasons and factors that have contributed to me making this decision ranging from my current employment commitments, my commitments and events that have happened in my personal life this year especially and also my current health situation at the moment as well that have made me step back and think about what I want to do, where my time, attention, care and focuses need to be on in my life and for my well-being right now.

Before anyone tries to even ask me to justify more about these factors and seeing if I can balance everything that is going on right now in my life; I will only say that my current situation cannot go on and something has got to be shelved in order for me to take a step back to allow myself to pursue and focus on what right now matters in my life and for my health and well-being.

And no matter how hard it might be for others to comprehend, understand or even acknowledge the decision that I have made regarding my writing commitments, all I ask is that you respect my decision which has I say hasn’t been easy to make at all.

I’ve had a great four years with the blog; words cannot be enough for what the blog has done for myself and also for my writing career as well. I’ve built the blog from absolutely nothing in October 2012 to now where the blog reaches its fourth birthday on the 25th October, has now passed 30,000 website views and on track to reach 2,000 posts by November.

The best thing about the blog has been to share my passion for the fastest motorsport in the world that I’ve had since the age of seven years old. But the most important thing the blog has given me in the last four years is that I have gained experience and confidence with my writing and also as a person as well.

I have made some great friends and colleagues that have become an important part in my blog’s journey (Especially the PSR Family) and also personally as well in my life, been approached by many amazing publications who have expressed an interest in my work and wanting me to become a part of them and gained some amazing Promotional Partners along the way (Especially Duurt).

That’s not to say that I won’t ever blog on Jones On F1 again in the near future. I might blog every now and then, just not as frequently as the last four years. But I do now think the time is right for me as a writer to see if I can push D4P to be the best it can be with my full attention and commitment for at least a year.

People tend to know me as their F1 and Formula E (especially the latter) writer especially after receiving an FIA Accredition for my Formula E coverage after only writing about the series since February this year. But it is only fair that I give myself the opportunity to develop, grow and expand as a writer even further and repay the faith that Phil has shown in me for the last two years.

But until the 27th November, I’m carrying on as normal until the end of the season with the blog and D4P, will be celebrating the blog’s fourth birthday on the 25th October and hopefully I’ll have 2,000 posts under my belt at the end of the season and I will do a Twitcam to say a fond goodbye to the blog.

I will be forever grateful to you and everyone else for everything during the 4 years I’ve been doing the blog, I couldn’t have asked for better people to help me on this journey I’ve been on. And I hope you will be there for the next stage of my journey by following my Formula 1 and Formula E coverage on Driving For Pleasure from the 28th November 2016 and beyond.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

